5 books I’ve Loved Which You Might Too.

This is a list of books I have read, enjoyed, loved, and often gifted to other people, who have loved them equally. That doesn’t mean to say that everyone will love them, and that’s fine. It is why Chetan Bhagat is big, though most of us can’t see why.They’re listed in no particular order. Enjoy!

1. The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegerurl

What does one say about a book that has been commented on by every single literary person of worth? That it is perfect? That it is possibly the most phenomenal plot ever? That that fact combined with a heart-wrenching love story might make it one of the best books on the planet? It’s funny how many different kinds of people I know who like this book. It’s odd how many boys I know, who keep a copy on their bedside table. My mother gave it to me telling me, “I promise you, it’s not cheesy.” That’s the best I can say too. Henry and Clare’s story is one that will survive trends and critics, for years to come. Because everybody wants a love like that.

2. A Night Without Armor by Jewel Kilcher

Jewel night without armor

I love  Neruda, Rumi and Dylan Thomas, but really, this book surprised me. A collection of poems by Jewel (yes, the folk singer) from when she was in her early twenties, the poems read like scribbles, but reveal a maturity impressive for a 23 year old. Like this:

Awaken love,

we are a pair

two knives, two flags

two slender stocks of wheat

And the song that sleeps

inside your mouth

is the song which bids

my heart to beat.

3.No One Here Gets Out Alive by Hopkins and Sugarman

9780760706183_p0_v1_s260x420

Technically, this is a Doors and Jim Morrison biography, but really, it is so, so much more. This book is why I started reading the way I did. This is the book that turned me on at 14 to Nietzsche, the beatniks (namely Kerouac), poetry, Buddhism, shamanism, music, Rimbaud, Warhol…in fact, it turned me on to life itself, while also being on of the finest rock biographies on offer. Full of a healthy mix of fact, philosophy and fandom, it has sold over 2 million copies, and continues to be the best Doors book on offer.

4.Sputnik Sweetheart by Haruki Murakami

sputnik-sweetheart

Sputnik Sweetheart is hauntingly good. I love Murakami’s distinct element dancing in the thin border between reality and fantasy, and how he works out the premise of every single book he writes. Every ending of each chapter is gripping, that made it just a breeze to finish reading it. Though the ending was little vague, this book still shoot straight to my ‘Favorites’ shelf.

5.Museum Of Innocence by Orhan Pamuk 

6a00d8341c562c53ef0120a7c45b93970b-800wi

I can’t get enough of the Turkish culture, Mr Pamuk made me appreciate good literature, Turkish culture and human’s feelings and emotions more than I did before. So… have you read The Museum of Innocence? No? Then… what are you waiting for?

By: Juhi Rupani

